fiona farrell
Related Experience
Prime Minister's Award


The Prime Minister's Awards for Literary achievement were introduced in 2003.


Previous fiction award recipients

2003 Janet Frame

2004 Maurice Gee

2005 Margaret Mahy

2006 Patricia Grace


Fiona Farrell with Dick Scott (non-fiction), Neville Peat (Michael King Writer's Fellowship) and the Rt Hon Helen Clark at the Prime Minister's Residence to receive the 2007 Awards. Bill Manhire (poetry) was overseas

Finalist 2012 NZ Post Book Award for General Non-Fiction. The Broken Book.

Finalist 2010 NZ Post Book Award for Fiction. Limestone.

Deutz Medal finalist 2008 Montana New Zealand Book Awards.  The Pop-Up Book of Invasions

Deutz Medal finalist, 2005 Montana New Zealand Book Awards. Book Book.

Deutz Medal finalist, 2003 Montana New Zealand Book Awards. The Hopeful  Traveller

Winner, 1993 New Zealand Book Award for Fiction. The Skinny Louie Book.

IBM Award, 1989

Mobil Dominion Short Story Award, 1988

Runner-up:  American Express Short Story Award, 1989

American Express Short Story Award, 1987

BNZ Katherine Mansfield Short Story Award, 1984

Evening Standard Short Story Award, 1982

Denis Glover Award (Drama), 1982

Bruce Mason Award (Poetry), 1982

IMPAC Literary Award

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is the largest and most international prize of its kind.

The Award is presented annually with the objective of promoting excellence in world literature. It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or English translation in the specified time period as outlined in the rules and conditions for the year. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is managed by Dublin City Libraries, on behalf of Dublin City Council. It is sponsored by IMPAC, an international management productivity company with its European headquarters in Dublin.

Fiona has been nominated four times for the award

2004 The Hopeful Traveller

2006 Book Book

2009 Mr Allbones' Ferrets

2011 Limestone

IMPAC 2006 link

Fiona was appointed an officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for 'services to literature'
in the Queen's Birthday and Diamond Jubilee Honours in 2012.